Department of Microbiology

Bayero University, Kano came into existence in 1976, following the Federal Government Policy of creating seven new second generation Universities. In the same year, 1976, the Faculty of Science was established. The Faculty of science started with Department of Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics, with Prof. G.G. Parffit as the foundation Dean. The foundation Head of Biological Sciences Department was Prof. R.A. Shorter and the Department graduated its first set of ten students with B.Sc. Biology, B.Sc. Zoology and B.Sc.Botany in 1980/81, with one of the graduates having a First Class Honours degree. The others obtained second class lower division and third class honours degree. Microbiology as a degree was started in 1988 under the Department of Biological Sciences and the first set graduated in 1991. From that time to date the Department retained graduants that distinguished themselves as staff members. Microbiology was under Biological Sciences as a unit until 2011 when it was created as a full pledge Department with pioneer HOD Dr. Nasir Tukur Dabo.