Mathematical Science

About the Department

The Department of Mathematical Sciences was established in 1976 as one of the pioneer departments of the then new Faculty of Science. It was called Department of Mathematics. The name was changed to Mathematical Sciences in the early 1990’s due to the recommendation by an NUC special panel that more degree programmes should be introduced, particularly B.Sc Computer Science and B.Sc Statistics. Due to staffing and other logistics problems, such new programmes could not be introduced until 2002/2003 session when the B.Sc Computer Science degree was established.

The Department had been running only two programmes; B.Sc Mathematics and B.Sc. Computer Science. In Addition, the department serves other departments in the university. With the establishment of new faculty in the university, B.Sc. Computer Science was moved to new Faculty of Computer Science and Information Technology in 2011/2012 session.
Currently, the Department is offering two Undergraduate programmes: BSc. Mathematics and BSc. Statistics; three postgraduate programmes: Postgraduate diploma in Mathematics, Master of Mathematics and Phd. in Mathematics.

News and Event