About the Faculty


In 1976/1977 academic session, faculty of Science became an active academic unit upon approval by the senate of Ahmadu bello University, Zaria at its 100th meeting under the then Abdullahi Bayaro College. By the year 1975, the status of abdullahi Bayero College was upgraded to a University College and during the same year, the first dean of the faculty,Professor G. G Parfitt, was appointed. For the purpose of ensuring a successful take up of the faculty, lecturers were recruited primarily from United Kingdom and Ireland to Form its pioneer academc staff and at the same time a 5-years academic program was designed as Integrated Science Degree program. Thus, the faculty began with four(4) departments which include:
1. Department of Biological Sciences
2. Department of Chemistry
3. Department of Mathematics
4. Department of Physics